apply here


The Jewish Healthcare Foundation’s 2020 Patient Safety Fellowship will immerse participants in the fundamentals of patient safety as they relate to preparedness and crisis intervention. The COVID-19 emergency presents a unique learning opportunity for future patient safety leaders. Fellows will learn from thought leaders and experts (and apply the best concepts) from safety science, quality engineering, and implementation science to ensure never again such a lack of preparation for medical crises—whether an outbreak of common but deadly infections or new viruses, bioterrorism, or maternal mortality.

The Patient Safety Fellowship will also review the existing ecosystem of patient safety and infectious disease in the U.S. to consider opportunities for improvement. Fellows will examine national safety authorities in other industries and translate best practices in predictive analytics, emergency prepardness, and safety science to their own healthcare setting.

As a Fellow, you will:

  • Gain an understanding of best practices in emergency response and patient safety, and formulate solutions to address the current gaps and challenges
  • Develop leadership skills in crisis preparation and intervention, working with other professionals from across healthcare disciplines
  • Strengthen your resume with a Fellowship certificate highlighting your new leadership skills in patient safety, crisis preparation and intervention

Who Should Apply

Graduate students, undergraduate students (in health professions), and young professionals from diverse disciplines who are interested in patient safety, healthcare policy, quality improvement, implementation science, and public health.

Dates and Times*

Wednesdays from 4:00-7:00 PM (dinner included)

June: 3, 10, 17, 24
July: 8, 15, 22, 29


QI2T Center (650 Smithfield St., Suite 2600, Pittsburgh,PA, 15222).

*Dates and start times are final, but sessions may be moved to virtual and/or shortened if necessary for the health and safety of participants this summer

To Apply

To submit your application, which includes a personal statement, resume, and letter of reference, click here.

To view the Fellowship flyer, click here.

Application Deadline

Wednesday, May 6, 2020


Join an online open house information session on April 8 from 12:00-1:30 pm EST. Join the open house.

For more information, please contact Steven Guo,